Noir Thrills

 

Harlem Shuffle: A Novel By Colson Whitehead Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525567271
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Anchor - August 9th, 2022

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER From the two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Underground Railroad and The Nickel Boys, this gloriously entertaining novel is  “fast-paced, keen-eyed and very funny ... about race, power and the history of Harlem all disguised as a thrill-ride crime novel" (San Francisco Chronicle).


Razorblade Tears: A Novel By S. A. Cosby Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250252715
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Flatiron Books - April 5th, 2022

*INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER* One of Barack Obama's Recommended Reads for Summer New York Times Notable Book • NPR’s Best Books of 2021 • Washington Post’s Best Thriller and Mystery Books of the Year • TIME Magazine’s 100 Must-Read Books of 2021 • New York Public Library’s Best Books of the Year • Goodreads Choice Award Nominee • Book


Live by Night: A Novel (Joe Coughlin Series #2) By Dennis Lehane Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063083769
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - July 27th, 2021

“A meticulously crafted portrait of our violent national past.”—Washington Post Book World


The Mad Women's Ball: A Novel By Victoria Mas, Frank Wynne (Translated by) Cover Image
By Victoria Mas, Frank Wynne (Translated by)
$15.00
ISBN: 9781419757600
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: The Overlook Press - September 13th, 2022

A New York Times best historical novel of the year, adapted as a major film for Amazon Prime, this feminist literary thriller is set in Paris's infamous Salpêtrière asylum—now in paperback

The Salpêtrière Asylum: Paris, 1885. Dr.


The Confessions of Matthew Strong: A Novel By Ousmane Power-Greene Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781635422085
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Other Press - October 25th, 2022

An NPR Best Book of the Year

A wildly original, incendiary story about race, redemption, the dangerous imbalances that continue to destabilize society, and speaking out for what’s right.


The Alienist: A Novel (The Alienist Series #1) By Caleb Carr Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780812976144
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - October 24th, 2006

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NOW A TNT ORIGINAL SERIES • “A first-rate tale of crime and punishment that will keep readers guessing until the final pages.”—Entertainment Weekly


Shrines of Gaiety: A Novel By Kate Atkinson Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780385547970
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Doubleday - September 27th, 2022

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER The award-winning author of Life after Life transports us to a restless London in the wake of the Great War—a city bursting with money, glamour, and corruption—in this spellbinding tale of seduction and betrayal.

A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR: WASHINGTON POST, TIME, THE GUARDIAN, BOOKLIST


The Bucket List: An Agent John Adderley Novel By Peter Mohlin, Peter Nyström, Ian Giles (Translated by) Cover Image
By Peter Mohlin, Peter Nyström, Ian Giles (Translated by)
$17.00
ISBN: 9781419752193
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: The Overlook Press - November 8th, 2022

A brilliant new Scandinavian noir series from Sweden introducing Agent John Adderley, already sold in 15 countries—now in paperback

The Bucket List is the gripping debut novel by writing team Peter Mohlin and Peter Nyström, launching a stunning new Nordic noir series featuring Swedish-American FBI Agent John Adderley.


The Perishing: A Novel By Natashia Deón Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781640095601
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Counterpoint - November 1st, 2022

A Black immortal in 1930's Los Angeles must recover the memory of her past in order to discover who she truly is in this extraordinarily affecting novel for readers of N. K. Jemisin and Octavia E. Butler.


Night of the Living Rez By Morgan Talty Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781953534187
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Tin House Books - July 5th, 2022

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

New England Book Award Winner, Fiction

A Finalist for the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Fiction, The Story Prize, & B&N Discover Book Prize

Longlisted for the 2023 PEN/Jean Stein Award & the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Debut Short Story Collection


The Paper Wasp By Lauren Acampora Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802148810
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Grove Press - March 17th, 2020

"Take The Talented Mr. Ripley, cross it with Suspiria, add a dash of La La Land and mix it all at midnight and this arty psychological stalker novel is what might result."--New York Times Book Review


Nights of Plague: A novel By Orhan Pamuk, Ekin Oklap (Translated by) Cover Image
By Orhan Pamuk, Ekin Oklap (Translated by)
$34.00
ISBN: 9780525656890
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Knopf - October 4th, 2022

From the the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature: Part detective story, part historical epic—a bold and brilliant novel that imagines a plague ravaging a fictional island in the Ottoman Empire.


My Darkest Prayer: A Novel By S. A. Cosby Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250867636
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Flatiron Books - December 6th, 2022

Award-winning, New York Times bestselling author S. A. Cosby’s debut novel My Darkest Prayer is republished in a new edition, with a new introduction from the author.


The Sun Down Motel By Simone St. James Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780440000204
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Berkley - October 20th, 2020

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Something hasn’t been right at the roadside Sun Down Motel for a very long time, and Carly Kirk is about to find out why in this chilling new novel from the New York Times bestselling and award-winning author of The Broken Girls.


Velvet Was the Night By Silvia Moreno-Garcia Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593356845
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Del Rey - May 3rd, 2022

GOOD MORNING AMERICA BUZZ PICK • From the New York Times bestselling author of Mexican Gothic comes a simmering historical noir about a daydreaming secretary, a lonesome enforcer, and the mystery of the missing woman they’re both desperate to find.