Noir Thrills

 

Harlem Shuffle: A Novel By Colson Whitehead Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525567271
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Anchor - August 9th, 2022

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER From the two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Underground Railroad and The Nickel Boys, this gloriously entertaining novel is “fast-paced, keen-eyed and very funny ... about race, power and the history of Harlem all disguised as a thrill-ride crime novel" (San Francisco Chronicle).


Crook Manifesto: A Novel By Colson Whitehead Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780385545150
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Doubleday - July 18th, 2023

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The two-time Pulitzer Prize winner and bestselling author of Harlem Shuffle continues his Harlem saga in a powerful and hugely-entertaining novel that summons 1970s New York in all its seedy glory.

A Best Book of the Year: The New York Times, The Washington Post, TIME, NPR, BookPage


Staff Pick Badge
Real Bad Things By Kelly J. Ford Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781662500091
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Thomas & Mercer - September 1st, 2022

From the author of Cottonmouths, a Los Angeles Review Best Book of 2017, comes an evocative suspense about the cost of keeping secrets and the dangers of coming home.

Beneath the roiling waters of the Arkansas River lie dead men and buried secrets.


Staff Pick Badge
The Hunt By Kelly J. Ford Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781662500107
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Thomas & Mercer - July 25th, 2023

From the author of Real Bad Things and Cottonmouths, a Los Angeles Review Best Book of 2017, comes the darkly suspenseful tale of a small-town Easter tradition and its murderous secrets.


The Alienist: A Novel (The Alienist Series #1) By Caleb Carr Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9780812976144
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - October 24th, 2006

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NOW A TNT ORIGINAL SERIES • “A first-rate tale of crime and punishment that will keep readers guessing until the final pages.”—Entertainment Weekly


The Bucket List: An Agent John Adderley Novel By Peter Mohlin, Peter Nyström, Ian Giles (Translated by) Cover Image
By Peter Mohlin, Peter Nyström, Ian Giles (Translated by)
$17.00
ISBN: 9781419752193
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: The Overlook Press - November 8th, 2022

The Bucket List is the gripping debut novel by award-winning writing team Peter Mohlin and Peter Nyström, launching a stunning new Nordic noir series featuring Swedish American FBI Agent John Adderley in a strong crime novel of psychological richness and depth for readers of Henning Mankell and Jo Nesbø.


Small Mercies: A Detective Mystery By Dennis Lehane Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780062129482
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Harper - April 25th, 2023

Instant New York Times Bestseller

Small Mercies is thought provoking, engaging, enraging, and can’t-put-it-down entertainment.” — Stephen King


Staff Pick Badge
Night of the Living Rez By Morgan Talty Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781953534187
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Tin House Books - July 5th, 2022

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

Winner of the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize, National Book Critics Circle John Leonard Prize, American Academy of Arts & Letters Sue Kaufman Prize, The New England Book Award, and the National Book Foundation 5 Under 35 Honoree


The Paper Wasp By Lauren Acampora Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802148810
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Grove Press - March 17th, 2020

"Take The Talented Mr. Ripley, cross it with Suspiria, add a dash of La La Land and mix it all at midnight and this arty psychological stalker novel is what might result."--New York Times Book Review


My Darkest Prayer: A Novel By S. A. Cosby Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250867636
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Flatiron Books - December 6th, 2022

Award-winning, New York Times bestselling author S. A. Cosby’s debut novel My Darkest Prayer is republished in a new edition, with a new introduction from the author.


All the Sinners Bleed: A Novel By S. A. Cosby Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250831910
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Flatiron Books - June 6th, 2023

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • USA Today Bestseller • Washington Post’s The Twelve Best Thrillers of the Year • TIME’s 100 Must Read Books of the Year • Goodreads Choice Award Nominee • USA Today’s Best Reviewed Books of the Year • BookPage's Best Mystery of the Year • Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of the Year • New York Times Book Re


Velvet Was the Night By Silvia Moreno-Garcia Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593356845
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Del Rey - May 3rd, 2022

GOOD MORNING AMERICA BUZZ PICK • From the New York Times bestselling author of Mexican Gothic comes a simmering historical noir about a daydreaming secretary, a lonesome enforcer, and the mystery of the missing woman they’re both desperate to find.


All That Is Mine I Carry With Me: A Novel By William Landay Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780345531841
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Bantam - March 7th, 2023

A mother vanished. A father presumed guilty. There is no proof. There are no witnesses. For the children, there is only doubt. From the bestselling author of Defending Jacob. . . .
 
“Gripping . . . a masterly piece of writing.”—The New York Times


Code of the Hills By Chris Offutt Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780802161918
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Grove Press - June 13th, 2023

In this blistering return to Chris
Offutt's acclaimed crime series, Mick Hardin is tested like never before as
familial allegiances and old wounds collide, threatening to destroy everything


The Killing Hills By Chris Offutt Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780802159878
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Grove Press - June 7th, 2022

A literary master across genres, award-winning author Chris Offutt's latest novel, The Killing Hills, is a compelling, propulsive thriller in which a suspicious death exposes the loyalties and rivalries of a deep-rooted and fiercely private community in the Kentucky backwoods.


Ocean State By Stewart O'Nan Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780802162335
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Grove Press - March 7th, 2023

Set in a working-class town on the Rhode Island coast, O'Nan's latest is a crushing, beautifully written, and profoundly compelling novel about sisters, mothers, and daughters, and the terrible things love makes us do.


Boston Noir (Akashic Noir) By Dennis Lehane (Editor) Cover Image
By Dennis Lehane (Editor)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781933354910
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Akashic Books, Ltd. - November 1st, 2009

Dennis Lehane steps up to the plate as editor and presents a scintillating collection of deep, dark fiction.


Cape Cod Noir (Akashic Noir) By David L. Ulin (Editor) Cover Image
By David L. Ulin (Editor)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781936070978
Availability: Backordered at our distributor but we can check availability from the publisher.
Published: Akashic Books, Ltd. - May 17th, 2011

Malice and mayhem simmer beneath the surface of one of America's favorite vacation areas.


San Francisco Noir 2: The Classics (Akashic Noir) By Peter Maravelis Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781933354651
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Akashic Books, Ltd. - February 1st, 2009

Dashiell Hammett and William Vollmann are just two treats in this stellar sequel to the smash-hit original volume of San Francisco Noir, which captures the dark mythology of a world-class locale.


D.C. Noir 2: The Classics (Akashic Noir) By George Pelecanos (Editor) Cover Image
By George Pelecanos (Editor)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781933354583
Availability: Backordered at our distributor but we can check availability from the publisher.
Published: Akashic Books, Ltd. - September 1st, 2008

Pelecanos assembles an enchanting array of dark and subversive stories, following up the best-selling first volume of DC Noir, this time selecting the very best of Washington’s historical literary legacy.