Nicollette's Picks

Alice Sadie Celine: A Novel By Sarah Blakley-Cartwright Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781668021590
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Simon & Schuster - November 28th, 2023

“Obsessed!” —Chloë Sevigny
“I am literally obsessed.” —Busy Philipps


Hailed as “richly intimate” and “wickedly delightful” (The New York Times Book Review), this steamy and incisive debut adult novel follows one woman’s affair with her daughter’s best friend, testing the limits o


Bright Young Women: A Novel By Jessica Knoll Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781501153228
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: S&S/ Marysue Rucci Books - September 19th, 2023

Don’t miss this “breakneck thriller” examining “our culture’s obsession with serial killers and true crime” (Harper’s Bazaar) following two women on the pursuit of justice against all odds.


Emergency: Stories By Kathleen Alcott Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781324051886
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - July 18th, 2023

One of The New Yorker's Best Books of 2023 • One of LitHub's 38 Best Books We read in 2023

"Best short stories for an instant escape."—Oprah Daily

From an “exquisite” (The New Yorker) writer, a searing volume of prizewinning stories starring women facing points of no return.


When I Waked, I Cried To Dream Again: Poems By A. Van Jordan Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781324050933
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - June 6th, 2023

A dynamic, moving hybrid work that celebrates Black youth, often too fleeting, and examines Black lives lost to police violence. 


When We Were Sisters: A Novel By Fatimah Asghar Cover Image
$27.00
Out of stock at the moment; would not arrive before the holidays.
ISBN: 9780593133460
Published: One World - October 18th, 2022

LONGLISTED FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARD • “This exquisite debut wrestles with gender, siblinghood, family, and what it means to be Muslim in America—all through the lens of love.”—Time
 
“Haunting . . .  a knife-sharp story of self-discovery.”—People


Eileen: A Novel By Ottessa Moshfegh Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143128755
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Penguin Books - August 16th, 2016

Now a major motion picture, starring Anne Hathaway and Thomasin McKenzie

Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize


Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead: A Novel By Emily Austin Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781982167363
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Washington Square Press - June 28th, 2022

In this “fun, page-turner of a novel” (Sarah Haywood, New York Times bestselling author) that’s perfect for fans of Mostly Dead Things and Goodbye, Vitamin, a morbidly anxious young woman stumbles into a job as a receptionist at a Catholic church and soon finds herself obsessed with her predecessor’s mysterious death.


Staff Pick Badge
Motherthing By Ainslie Hogarth Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593467022
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Vintage - September 27th, 2022

A NEW YORK TIMES BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR • A darkly funny take on mothers and daughters, about a woman who must take drastic measures to save her husband and herself from the vengeful ghost of her mother-in-law.

“A quirky, gruesome, utterly original feminist horror experience.” —The New York Times Book Review


Writers & Lovers By Lily King Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780802148544
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Grove Press - February 16th, 2021

#ReadWithJenna Book Club Pick as Featured on Today
Emma Roberts Belletrist Book Club Pick
A New York Times Book Review's Group Text Selection


Staff Pick Badge
Her Body and Other Parties: Stories By Carmen Maria Machado Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781555977887
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Graywolf Press - October 3rd, 2017

Finalist for the National Book Award for Fiction

“[These stories] vibrate with originality, queerness, sensuality and the strange.”—Roxane Gay

“In these formally brilliant and emotionally charged tales, Machado gives literal shape to women’s memories and hunger and desire. I couldn’t put it down.”—Karen Russell


Sula (Vintage International) By Toni Morrison Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781400033430
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Vintage - June 8th, 2004

From the acclaimed Nobel Prize winner: Two girls who grow up to become women. Two friends who become something worse than enemies. This brilliantly imagined novel brings us the story of Nel Wright and Sula Peace, who meet as children in the small town of Medallion, Ohio.

One of The Atlantic’s Great American Novels of the Past 100 Years


Staff Pick Badge
A Certain Hunger By Chelsea G. Summers Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781951213145
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Unnamed Press - October 18th, 2021

Food critic Dorothy Daniels loves what she does. Discerning, meticulous, and very, very smart, Dorothy's clear mastery of the culinary arts make it likely that she could, on any given night, whip up a more inspired dish than any one of the chefs she writes about.


Jane: A Murder By Maggie Nelson Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781593766580
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Soft Skull - September 13th, 2016

Part elegy, part true crime story, this memoir-in-verse from the author of the award-winning The Argonauts expands the notion of how we tell stories and what form those stories take through the story of a murdered woman and the mystery surrounding her last hours.


Homie: Poems By Danez Smith Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781644450109
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Graywolf Press - January 21st, 2020

FINALIST FOR THE 2020 NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FOR POETRY
FINALIST FOR THE 2021 NAACP IMAGE AWARD FOR POETRY

Danez Smith is our president


Night Sky with Exit Wounds By Ocean Vuong Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781556594953
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Copper Canyon Press - April 5th, 2016

A haunting debut that is simultaneously dreamlike and visceral, vulnerable and redemptive, and risks the painful rewards of emotional honesty.


Gender Queer: A Memoir By Maia Kobabe Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781549304002
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Oni Press - May 28th, 2019

2020 ALA Alex Award Winner
2020 Stonewall — Israel Fishman Non-fiction Award Honor Book

In 2014, Maia Kobabe, who uses e/em/eir pronouns, thought that a comic of reading statistics would be the last autobiographical comic e would ever write. At the time, it was the only thing e felt comfortable with strangers knowing about em. Now, Gender Queer is here.


Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood (Pantheon Graphic Library) By Marjane Satrapi Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780375714573
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Pantheon - June 1st, 2004

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Wise, funny, and heartbreaking, Persepolis is Marjane Satrapi’s acclaimed graphic memoir of growing up in Iran during the Islamic Revolution.


This Will All Be Over Soon: A Memoir By Cecily Strong Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781982168353
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Simon & Schuster - August 9th, 2022

A powerful memoir from the Saturday Night Live cast member Cecily Strong about grieving the death of her cousin—and embracing the life-affirming lessons he taught her—amid the coronavirus pandemic.

Cecily Strong had a special bond with her cousin Owen. And so she was devastated when, in early 2020, he passed away at age thirty from the brain cancer glioblastoma.