For the History Buff

How the Word Is Passed: A Reckoning with the History of Slavery Across America Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780316492935
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Little, Brown and Company - June 1st, 2021

Instant #1 New York Times bestseller

Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Awards


A New York Times 10 Best Books of 2021

Time 10 Best Nonfiction Books of 2021


Named a Best Book of 2021 by The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Boston Globe, The Ec


The Cause: The American Revolution and its Discontents, 1773-1783 Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781631498985
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Liveright - September 21st, 2021

New York Times Book Review — Editors’ Choice • Chicago Tribune — "60 Best Reads for Right Now" • St. Louis Post-Dispatch — "50 Fall Books You Should Consider Reading"

A culminating work on the American Founding by one of its leading historians, The Cause rethinks the American Revolution as we have known it.


Caste (Oprah's Book Club): The Origins of Our Discontents Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9780593230251
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Random House - August 4th, 2020

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • OPRAH’S BOOK CLUB PICK • NATIONAL BOOK AWARD LONGLIST • “An instant American classic and almost certainly the keynote nonfiction book of the American century thus far.”—Dwight Garner, The New York Times


The Splendid and the Vile: A Saga of Churchill, Family, and Defiance During the Blitz Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9780385348713
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Crown - February 25th, 2020

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The author of The Devil in the White City and Dead Wake delivers an intimate chronicle of Winston Churchill and London during the Blitz—an inspiring portrait of courage and leadership in a time of unprecedented crisis
 


The 1619 Project: A New Origin Story Cover Image
By Nikole Hannah-Jones (Created by), The New York Times Magazine (Created by), Caitlin Roper (Editor), Ilena Silverman (Editor), Jake Silverstein (Editor)
$37.00
ISBN: 9780593501719
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Random House Large Print - January 4th, 2022

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A dramatic expansion of a groundbreaking work of journalism, The 1619 Project: A New Origin Story offers a profoundly revealing vision of the American past and present.


Begin Again: James Baldwin's America and Its Urgent Lessons for Our Own Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525575337
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Crown - July 27th, 2021

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “A powerful study of how to bear witness in a moment when America is being called to do the same.”—Time
 
James Baldwin grew disillusioned by the failure of the civil rights movement to force America to confront its lies about race. What can we learn from his struggle in our own moment?


About Time: A History of Civilization in Twelve Clocks Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780393867930
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - August 17th, 2021

One of Smithsonian Magazine's Ten Best History Books of 2021

A captivating, surprising history of timekeeping and how it has shaped our world.


An Afro-Indigenous History of the United States Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780807011683
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Beacon Press - November 16th, 2021

The first intersectional history of the Black and Native American struggle for freedom in our country that also reframes our understanding of who was Indigenous in early America


A (Very) Short History of Life on Earth: 4.6 Billion Years in 12 Pithy Chapters Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250276650
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: St. Martin's Press - November 9th, 2021

"[A]n exuberant romp through evolution, like a modern-day Willy Wonka of genetic space. Gee’s grand tour enthusiastically details the narrative underlying life’s erratic and often whimsical exploration of biological form and function.” —Adrian Woolfson, The Washington Post


Madame Fourcade's Secret War: The Daring Young Woman Who Led France's Largest Spy Network Against Hitler Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780812985030
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - March 3rd, 2020

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The little-known true story of Marie-Madeleine Fourcade, the woman who headed the largest spy network in occupied France during World War II, from the bestselling author of Citizens of London and Last Hope Island


Agent Sonya: The Spy Next Door Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593136324
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Crown - July 27th, 2021

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The “master storyteller” (San Francisco Chronicle) behind the New York Times bestseller The Spy and the Traitor uncovers the true story behind one of the Cold War’s most intrepid spies.

“[An] immensely exciting, fast-moving account.”—The Washington Post


The Riviera House Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781538717318
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Forever - August 31st, 2021

A lush and engrossing novel of one woman’s quest to keep Nazis from stealing priceless art during WWII, perfect for fans of The Rose Code.
 
Paris, 1939: The Nazis think Éliane can't understand German. They’re wrong.


The Living and the Lost: A Novel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250780829
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - September 7th, 2021

From the author of Paris Never Leaves You, Ellen Feldman's The Living and the Lost is a gripping story of a young German Jewish woman who returns to Allied Occupied Berlin from America to face the past and unexpected future


When Can We Go Back to America?: Voices of Japanese American Incarceration during WWII Cover Image
By Susan H. Kamei, Norman Y. Mineta (Foreword by)
$22.99
ISBN: 9781481401449
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - September 7th, 2021

In this dramatic and page-turning narrative history of Japanese Americans before, during, and after their World War II incarceration, Susan H.


The War Widow: A Novel (A Billie Walker Novel) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593182673
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Dutton - November 2nd, 2021

AN INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER!
The war may be officially over, but journalist Billie Walker's search for a missing young immigrant man will plunge her right back into the danger and drama she thought she'd left behind in Europe in this thrilling tale of courage and secrets set in glamorous postwar Sydney. 


Staff Pick Badge
Still Life Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593330753
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - November 2nd, 2021

A Good Morning America Book Club Pick
 
A captivating, bighearted, richly tapestried story of people brought together by love, war, art, flood, and the ghost of E. M. Forster, by the celebrated author of Tin Man.


Four Hundred Souls: A Community History of African America, 1619-2019 Cover Image
By Ibram X. Kendi (Editor), Keisha N. Blain (Editor)
$32.00
ISBN: 9780593134047
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: One World - February 2nd, 2021

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A chorus of extraordinary voices tells the epic story of the four-hundred-year journey of African Americans from 1619 to the present—edited by Ibram X. Kendi, author of How to Be an Antiracist, and Keisha N. Blain, author of Set the World on Fire.


Sapiens: A Graphic History, Volume 2: The Pillars of Civilization Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780063212237
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Harper Perennial - October 26th, 2021

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

This second volume of Sapiens: A Graphic History, the full-color graphic adaptation of Yuval Noah Harari’s #1 New York Times bestseller, focuses on the Agricultural Revolution—when humans fell into a trap we’ve yet to escape: working harder and harder with diminishing returns.


The Code Breaker: Jennifer Doudna, Gene Editing, and the Future of the Human Race Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781982115852
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Simon & Schuster - March 9th, 2021

A Best Book of 2021 by Bloomberg BusinessWeek, Time, and The Washington Post

The bestselling author of Leonardo da Vinci and Steve Jobs returns with a “compelling” (The Washington Post) account of how Nobel Prize winner Jennifer Doudna and her colleagues launched a revolution that will allow us to cure diseases, fend off virus


The Sum of Us: What Racism Costs Everyone and How We Can Prosper Together Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780525509561
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: One World - February 16th, 2021

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • LONGLISTED FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARD • One of today’s most insightful and influential thinkers offers a powerful exploration of inequality and the lesson that generations of Americans have failed to learn: Racism has a cost for everyone—not just for people of color.