Historical Fiction -- NPS

Bea and the New Deal Horse By L. M. Elliott Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063219007
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - March 28th, 2023

This lyrical middle grade historical novel set during the Great Depression from award-winning author L. M. Elliott is a moving tale of the spirit of American persistence, found family, and the magical partnership between girl and horse. Winner of the Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction!


Staff Pick Badge
The Door of No Return (The Door of No Return series #1) By Kwame Alexander Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316441865
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 27th, 2022

From the Newbery Medal and Coretta Scott King Award winning author Kwame Alexander, comes the first book in a searing, breathtaking trilogy that tells the story of a boy, a village, and the epic odyssey of an African family.

In his village in Upper Kwanta, 11-year-old Kofi loves his family, playing oware with his grandfather and swimming in the


Iceberg By Jennifer A. Nielsen Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338795028
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Scholastic Press - March 7th, 2023

As disaster looms on the horizon, a young stowaway onboard the Titanic will need all her courage and wits to stay alive. A thrilling tale from New York Times bestselling author Jennifer A. Nielsen!

Hazel Rothbury is traveling all alone from her home in England aboard the celebrated ship Titanic.


The Lost Year: A Survival Story of the Ukrainian Famine (National Book Award Finalist) By Katherine Marsh Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250313607
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Roaring Brook Press - January 17th, 2023

*A National Book Award Finalist*

From the author of Nowhere Boy - called “a resistance novel for our times” by The New York Times - comes a brilliant middle-grade survival story that traces a harrowing family secret back to the Holodomor, a terrible famine that devastated Soviet Ukraine in the 1930s.


Mazie By Melanie Crowder Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780525516743
Availability: Backordered at our distributor but we can check availability from the publisher.
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - February 23rd, 2021

*"Deserves a standing ovation." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

*" This is a terrific and realistic piece of historical fiction that is perfect for theater lovers and historical fiction fans." --SLC (starred review)


My Fine Fellow By Jennieke Cohen Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063047532
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: HarperTeen - January 11th, 2022

A 2023 Sydney Taylor Honor Book! * A Bustle Best YA Books Out in 2022 title!


My Life as an Ice Cream Sandwich By Ibi Zoboi Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780399187360
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Puffin Books - July 7th, 2020

National Book Award-finalist Ibi Zoboi makes her middle-grade debut with a moving story of a girl finding her place in a world that's changing at warp speed.


Wild Bird By Diane Zahler Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250833402
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Roaring Brook Press - March 21st, 2023

Get lost in a sweeping middle-grade adventure following Rype, an abandoned girl in fourteenth-century Europe, as she walks from Norway to England looking for safety from the plague.

Her name was Rype. That wasn’t really her name. It was what the strangers called her. She didn’t remember her real name. She didn’t remember anything at all.


World Made of Glass By Ami Polonsky Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316462044
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 17th, 2023

An “inspiring” (Kirkus, starred review), “heartfelt” (The Horn Book, starred review) coming-of-age novel about a girl finding her way to activism in the early years of the AIDS pandemic, from award-winning author Ami Polonsky.
 
Iris tries to act normal at school, going through the motions and joking around with her friends.


Beneath the Wide Silk Sky By Emily Inouye Huey Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781338789942
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Scholastic Press - October 18th, 2022

Stunning, devastating, poignant: Debut author Emily Inouye Huey paints an intimate portrait of the racism faced by America's Japanese population during WWII. Perfect for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Sharon Cameron.

Sam Sakamoto doesn't have space in her life for dreams.


I Must Betray You By Ruta Sepetys Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984836045
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Philomel Books - May 2nd, 2023

A gut-wrenching, startling historical thriller about communist Romania and the citizen spy network that devastated a nation, from the #1 New York Times bestselling, award-winning author of Salt to the Sea and Between Shades of Gray.


The Davenports By Krystal Marquis Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780593463338
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Dial Books - January 31st, 2023

*Instant New York Times Bestseller*

The Davenports delivers a totally escapist, swoon-worthy romance while offering a glimpse into a period of African American history often overlooked.

"The perfect read for fans of escapist historical fiction.” —NBC’s TODAY


African Town By Charles Waters, Irene Latham Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593322901
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - January 24th, 2023

Chronicling the story of the last Africans brought illegally to America in 1860, African Town is a powerful and stunning novel-in-verse.

Cover may vary.


Luck of the Titanic By Stacey Lee Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781524741006
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - September 27th, 2022

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Downstairs Girl comes the richly imagined story of Valora and Jamie Luck, twin British-Chinese acrobats traveling aboard the Titanic on its ill-fated maiden voyage.


Self-Made Boys: A Great Gatsby Remix (Remixed Classics #5) By Anna-Marie McLemore Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250774934
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Feiwel & Friends - September 6th, 2022

A NATIONAL BOOK AWARD LONGLIST SELECTION


Stateless By Elizabeth Wein Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316591249
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 14th, 2023

Elizabeth Wein, #1 bestselling author of Code Name Verity, delivers a tour de force historical thriller that will leave you breathless.

Twelve competitors. One prize. Many reasons to kill.
 
When Stella North is chosen to represent Britain in Europe’s first air race for young people, she knows all too well how high the stakes are.