Farm Storytime! w/ Mia Wenjen, Maria Gianferrari, Nancy Castaldo & more

Join us for a farm-themed storytime and activity with THREE fabulous local authors! Mia Wenjen -- FOOD FOR THE FUTURE, Maria Gianferrari -- THANK A FARMER, and Nancy Castaldo -- THE FARM THAT FEEDS US -- will read from and talk about their books, farms, and more! Join us!

 

 

Event date: 
Saturday, November 4, 2023 - 11:00am
Event address: 
10 Langley Rd
Newton, MA 02459-1972
Food for the Future: Sustainable Farms Around the World By Mia Wenjen, Robert Sae-Heng (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Mia Wenjen, Robert Sae-Heng (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781646868407
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Barefoot Books - May 23rd, 2023

★ "An exciting overview of traditional and innovative farming techniques that will warrant repeated reading, for casual browsing or classroom use." -Sally A.


Thank a Farmer By Maria Gianferrari, Monica Mikai (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Maria Gianferrari, Monica Mikai (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781324015796
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Norton Young Readers - September 5th, 2023

Infused with jubilance and warmth, this luminous, lyrical picture book celebrates the people and the work that put food on our tables.


The Farm That Feeds Us: A year in the life of an organic farm By Nancy Castaldo, Ginnie Hsu (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Nancy Castaldo, Ginnie Hsu (Illustrator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9780711242531
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: words & pictures - July 21st, 2020

Where does our food come from? What role do farms play? What’s it like to be a farmer? In this charmingly illustrated book, follow a farm throughout the year to discover how the farmer grows fresh and tasty food for us to eat in a sustainable and natural way.

Explore the workings of a small-scale, organic family farm and experience the rhythm of farm life.


Fungi Grow By Maria Gianferrari, Diana Sudyka (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Maria Gianferrari, Diana Sudyka (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781665903653
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Beach Lane Books - October 17th, 2023

Discover when, how, where, and why fungi grow in this poetic and illuminating nonfiction picture book in the vein of When the Sky Glows and Animal Architects.

Above ground, below ground, all around, fungi grow. They root and fruit and twist and twine everywhere on earth. Some are edible, some are medicinal, some are even poisonous.


You and the Bowerbird By Maria Gianferrari, Maris Wicks (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Maria Gianferrari, Maris Wicks (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250849878
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Roaring Brook Press - August 15th, 2023

Follow the Satin Bowerbird as he searches for the perfect welcome mat for his new home, in this delightfully colorful and action-packed nonfiction tale by award winning author Maria Gianferrari, and illustrated by comic-star Maris Wicks.

Just on the edge of the rainforest,

Between your house and the trees,

Bowerbirds collect, pillage, and steal!


To Dogs, with Love: A Love Letter to the Dogs Who Help Us By Maria Gianferrari, Ishaa Lobo (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Maria Gianferrari, Ishaa Lobo (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250244949
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Roaring Brook Press - December 5th, 2023

A book for anyone who has ever loved a dog.

Dear Dogs,

Thank you for being there when we are sick, or hurt, or in trouble.
Thank you for licks and hugs when we feel down, or just need to smile.
Thank you for all that you do, for always being at our sides.
This is our love letter to you!


Be a Tree! By Maria Gianferrari, Felicita Sala (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Maria Gianferrari, Felicita Sala (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781419744228
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - March 30th, 2021

Be a Tree! is a lyrical, gorgeously illustrated look at the majesty of trees—and what humans can learn from them.
 
Stand tall.
Stretch your branches to the sun.
Be a tree!
 
We are all like trees: our spines, trunks; our skin, bark; our hearts giving us strength and support, like heartwood.


Hello Goodbye Dog By Maria Gianferrari, Patrice Barton (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Maria Gianferrari, Patrice Barton (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781626721777
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Roaring Brook Press - July 25th, 2017

For Zara’s dog, Moose, nothing is more important than being with his favorite girl. So when Zara has to go to school in her wheelchair, WHOOSH, Moose escapes and rushes to her side.

Hello, Moose!

Unfortunately, dogs aren’t allowed at school and Moose has to go back home.

Goodbye, Moose.


Hawk Rising By Maria Gianferrari, Brian Floca (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Maria Gianferrari, Brian Floca (Illustrator)
$18.99
Out of stock at the moment; would not arrive before the holidays.
ISBN: 9781626720961
Published: Roaring Brook Press - June 5th, 2018

Early morning and a ruffle of feathers,

A shadow gliding through the backyard.

High above your house Father Hawk circles, sharp eyes searching for prey. From the front porch, you watch.

Swoosh!

He dives after chipmunks, crows, sparrows, squirrels.

Screech!

The sun sets low in the sky.

What’s for dinner?


How to Coach Girls By Mia Wenjen, Alison Foley Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781936426034
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Audrey Press - February 26th, 2018

"How to Coach Girls provides the most comprehensive guide available to the many issues associated with coaching girls teams across the spectrum of sports, from soccer to lacrosse, field hockey to softball. Volunteer parents and experienced coaches alike will find invaluable advice on the process of making a successful team, encouraging girls to stay in sports beyond the middle school years.


Sumo Joe By Mia Wenjen, Nat Iwata (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Mia Wenjen, Nat Iwata (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781620148020
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Lee & Low Books - June 11th, 2019

In this sweet and funny story, Sumo Joe and his friends enjoy pretending to be sumo wrestlers. But when his little sister wants to join their boy-only game, what should Sumo Joe do?


Changing the Game: Asian Pacific American Female Athletes By Mia Wenjen Cover Image
$11.95
ISBN: 9798524572691
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Independently Published - July 8th, 2021

Meet 17 Asian Pacific American female athletes
from yesterday and today

From snowboarder Chloe Kim and hockey player Julie Chu to
soccer player Natasha Kai-Marks, these champions inspire us
as we learn how they rose to compete at the highest level and how they
pave the way for others to follow.

Editorial Reviews