Past Events

2017

Fri, Jan 13, 7PM – Friday Night Bookclub meets to discuss THIRTEEN WAYS OF LOOKING: A NOVELLA AND THREE STORIES by Colum McCann.

Tue, Jan 24, 7PM – Erica Ferencik, author of THE RIVER AT NIGHT: A NOVEL, and Noy Holland, author of I WAS TRYING TO DESCRIBE WHAT IT FEELS LIKE: NEW AND SELECTED STORIES

Sat, Jan 28, 11AM – Join us for origami and a Chinese New Year celebration storytime with Andrea Wang, author of THE NIAN MONSTER.  All ages welcome.

Mon, Feb 6, 7PM — PoemWorks Poetry Event with Mary Lou Maloney and Matthew Sisson, followed by an Open Mic.

Tue, Feb 7, 7PM — Suzanne Berne, author of THE DOGS OF LITTLEFIELD: A NOVEL, and Peter Swanson, author of HER EVERY FEAR: A NOVEL

Fri, Feb 10, 7PM – Friday Night Bookclub meets to discuss THE PRIVATE LIFE OF MRS. SHARMA by Ratika Kapur.

Tue, Feb 28, 7PM – Celebrity Bookclub meets to discuss FATES AND FURIES by Lauren Groff.  Hosted by Elizabeth Searle, author of WE GOT HIM: A NOVEL.

Thu, Mar 2, 7PM – Jim Shepard, author of THE WORLD TO COME: STORIES

Mon, Mar 6, 7PM — PoemWorks poetry reading with Shana Hill and Connemara Wadsworth, followed by an Open Mic.

Tue, Mar 7, 7PM – Annie Hartnett, author of RABBIT CAKE: A NOVEL

Thu, Mar 9, 7PM – Laurie Lico Albanese, author of STOLEN BEAUTY: A NOVEL

Fri, Mar 10, 7PM – Friday Night Bookclub meets to discuss 1984 by George Orwell

Wed, Mar 15, 7PM – Marcia Butler, author of THE SKIN ABOVE MY KNEE: A MEMOIR, in conversation with Andre Dubus III, author of HOUSE OF SAND AND FOG

Thu, Mar 16, 7PM – Rick Beyer, author of RIVALS UNTO DEATH: ALEXANDER HAMILTON AND AARON BURR

Thu, Mar 23, 7PM – Megan Marshall, author of ELIZABETH BISHOP: A MIRACLE FOR BREAKFAST

Sun, Mar 26, 2PM – Picture Book Event with  Wendy Drexler and Joan Fleiss Kaplan, authors of BUZZ, RUBY, AND THEIR CITY CHICKS: A TRUE RED-TAILED HAWK STORY. All ages welcome.

Tue, Mar 28, 7PM — Celebrity Bookclub meets to discuss ONE MORE THING: STORIES AND OTHER STORIES by B.J. Novak, hosted by B.J.’s father, William Novak, author of DIE LAUGHING: KILLER JOKES FOR NEWLY OLD FOLKS.

Fri, Mar 31, 7PM – Joseph Scapellato, author of BIG LONESOME: STORIES, and Christopher Boucher, author of GOLDEN DELICIOUS: A NOVEL

Mon, Apr 3, 7PM — PoemWorks poetry event with Eileen Cleary, and Sarath Reddy, followed by an Open Mic.

Tue, Apr 4, 7PM — Sharon Pywell, author of THE ROMANCE READER’S GUIDE TO LIFE: A NOVEL

Thu, Apr 6, 7PM — John Florio and Ouisie Shapiro, authors of ONE NATION UNDER BASEBALL: HOW THE 1960s COLLIDED WITH THE NATIONAL PASTIME

Fri, Apr 7, 7PM – Friday Night Bookclub meets to discuss GEORGIA: A NOVEL OF GEORGIA O’KEEFFE by Dawn Tripp.

Wed, Apr 12, 7PM — Hannah Tinti, author of THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY: A NOVEL, in conversation with Laura van den Berg, author of FIND ME: A NOVEL

Thu, Apr 13, 7PM — Nathalia Holt, author of RISE OF THE ROCKET GIRLS: THE WOMEN WHO PROPELLED US FROM MISSILES TO THE MOON TO MARS

Tue, Apr 25, 7PM – Robert McKean, author of THE CATALOG OF CROOKED THOUGHTS: A NOVEL

Wed, Apr 26, 7PM – Meta Wagner, author of WHAT’S YOUR CREATIVE TYPE? HARNESS THE POWER OF YOUR ARTISTIC PERSONALITY

Thu, Apr 27, 7PM – Michael Callahan, author of THE NIGHT SHE WON MISS AMERICA: A NOVEL

Sat, Apr 29, 2PM — Celebrity Bookclub meets to discuss NIMONA by Noelle Stevenson, hosted by Tui Sutherland, author of the Wings of Fire series, the Menagerie trilogy, and the Pet Trouble series.  Ages 8 and up welcome.

Sun, Apr 30, 2PM — Celebrate the release of SOAP OPERA CONFIDENTIAL: WRITERS AND SOAP INSIDERS ON WHY WE’LL TUNE IN TOMORROW AS THE WORLD TURNS RESTLESSLY BY THE GUIDING LIGHT OF OUR LIVES with editors Elizabeth Searle and Suzanne Strempek Shea and contributors Lisa Borders, Emily Franklin, Allan Hunter, Marianne Leone, Leigh Montville, Brenda Sparks Prescott, and Sebastian Stuart.

Sun, Apr 30, 2PM — Sunday Salon meets to discuss THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD by Colson Whitehead.  Supplemental Reading: MARCH: BOOK ONE: by John Lewis.

Mon, May 1, 7PM — PoemWorks Poetry Event with Steve Nickman and Wendy Drexler, followed by an Open Mic.

Tue, May 2, 7PM  — Jessica Shattuck, author of THE WOMEN IN THE CASTLE: A NOVEL

Wed, May 3, 7PM — Lisa Feldman Barrett, author of HOW EMOTIONS ARE MADE: THE SECRET LIFE OF THE BRAIN. Please note that C-SPAN will be filming this event.

Thu, May 4, 7PM — Marianne Leone, author of MA SPEAKS UP: AND A FIRST-GENERATION DAUGHTER TALKS BACK

Tue, May 9, 7PM — Alex Beam, author of THE FEUD: VLADIMIR NABOKOV, EDMUND WILSON, AND THE END OF A BEAUTIFUL FRIENDSHIP

Wed, May 10, 7PM — J. Robert Lennon, author of BROKEN RIVER: A NOVEL

Thu, May 11, 7PM — John J. Winters, author of SAM SHEPARD: A LIFE

Fri, May 12, 7PM — Friday Night Bookclub meets to discuss MIKHAIL AND MARGARITA: A NOVEL by Julie Lekstrom Himes.

Sat, May 13, 11 AM — Picture Book Event with Sally Sandford and Ilse Plume, author and illustrator of HENRY AND THE HUCKLEBERRIES: A VISIT WITH MR.  THOREAU AT WALDEN POND

Mon, May 15, 7 to 9 PM — Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators Meet and Greet Event, hosted by Brenda Davis Harsham. Authors, Poets, Illustrators and Kids Lit Lovers welcome!

Tue, May 16, 7PM — Dawn Tripp, author of GEORGIA: A NOVEL OF GEORGIA O’KEEFFE, and B.A. Shapiro, author of THE MURALIST: A NOVEL

Wed, May 17, 7PM — Fiona Maazel, author of A LITTLE MORE HUMAN: A NOVEL, and Paul La Farge, author of THE NIGHT OCEAN: A NOVEL

Thu, May 18, 7PM — David Hicks, author of WHITE PLAINS: A NOVEL, and ZZ Packer, author of DRINKING COFFEE ELSEWHERE: STORIES, in conversation with Kenneth Calhoun, author of BLACK MOON: A NOVEL

Sun, May 21, 2PM — Sunday Salon meets to discuss EXIT WEST by Moshin Hamid.  Supplemental reading: TELL ME HOW IT ENDS: AN ESSAY IN FORTY QUESTIONS by Valeria Luiselli.

Tue, May 23, 7PM — Jodi Daynard, author of A MORE PERFECT UNION: A NOVEL

Wed, May 24, 7PM — Martha Cooley, author of GUESSWORK: A RECKONING WITH LOSS, in conversation with Douglas Bauer, author of WHAT HAPPENS NEXT?: MATTERS OF LIFE AND DEATH

Thu, May 25, 7PM — Poetry Event with Richard Hoffman, author of NOON UNTIL NIGHT, Fred Marchant, author of SAID NOT SAID, and Ben Berman, author of FIGURING IN THE FIGURE

Tue, May 30, 7PM — Randy Susan Meyers, author of THE WIDOW OF WALL STREET: A NOVEL, and Juliette Fay, author of THE TUMBLING TURNER SISTERS: A NOVEL

Wed, May 31, 7PM — Celebrity Bookclub meets to discuss THE PLOT AGAINST AMERICA by Philip Roth, hosted by Joseph Finder, author of the forthcoming novel, THE SWITCH.

Thu, June 1, 7PM — Dan Moren, author of THE CALEDONIAN GAMBIT: A NOVEL

Fri, June 2, 7PM — Friday Night Bookclub meets to discuss RABBIT CAKE by Annie Hartnett.

Sat, June 3, 2PM – Middle Grade Event with Susan Tan, author of CILLA LEE-JENKINS: FUTURE AUTHOR EXTRAORDINAIRE

Mon, June 5, 7PM — PoemWorks Poetry Event with Margaux Novak, and Margot Wizansky, followed by an Open Mic

Tue, June 6, 7PM — Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich, author of THE FACT OF A BODY: A MURDER AND A MEMOIR

Thu, June 8, 7PM — Don Lee, author of LONESOME LIES BEFORE US: A NOVEL, in conversation with Laura van den Berg

Mon, June 12, 7PM — Brown Middle School Reading

Tue, June 13, 7PM — Release party for Rachel Kadish, author of THE WEIGHT OF INK: A NOVEL

Wed, June 14, 7PM — Jonathan Safran Foer, author of HERE I AM: A NOVEL

Thu, June 15, 7PM — Release party for Alan Howard, author of IN THE LAND OF ETERNAL SPRING: A NOVEL, in conversation with Byron Titus

Sat, June 17, 11:30 AM – Father’s Day Storytime and Craft – We’ll read some books about fathers and grandfathers, including LADYBUG GIRL’S DAY OUT WITH GRANDPA, and make a special Father’s Day craft.

Mon, June 19, 7PM — Julia Fierro, author of THE GYPSY MOTH SUMMER: A NOVEL, in conversation with Joanna Rakoff

Tue, June 20, 7PM — Dan Drezner, author of THE IDEAS INDUSTRY: HOW PESSIMISTS, PARTISANS, AND PLUTOCRATS ARE TRANSFORMING THE MARKETPLACE OF IDEAS

Thu, June 22, 7PM — Terry Ann Knopf, author of THE GOLDEN AGE OF BOSTON TELEVISION

Sat, June 24, 11:30 AM – Storytime and Craft – Hold on to Your Hats! We’ll read Jon Klassen’s hat trilogy: I WANT MY HAT BACK, THIS IS NOT MY HAT, and WE FOUND A HAT. Wear your favorite hat!

Sun, June 25, 2PM — Sunday Salon meets to discuss GOD IN PINK by Hasan Namir.  Supplemental reading: HERE COMES THE SUN by Nicole Dennis-Benn.

Sun, June 25, 3PM — Celebrity Bookclub meets to discuss THE FLAMETHROWERS by Rachel Kushner, hosted by David Ryan, author of ANIMALS IN MOTION: STORIES, and the recent Bookmarked volume on Malcolm Lowry’s UNDER THE VOLCANO.

Tue, June 27, 7PM — Release party for Elaine Chapman, author of HUNGER FOR SALT: POEMS, with Catherine Parnell and JoeAnn Hart

Wed, June 28, 7PM –Lisa Duffy, author of THE SALT HOUSE: NOVEL, and Leah DeCesare, author of FORKS, KNIVES, AND SPOONS: A NOVEL

Thu, June 29, 7PM — Allegra Goodman, author of THE CHALK ARTIST: A NOVEL, and Beatriz Williams, author of COCOA BEACH: A NOVEL

Sat, July 8, 11:30AM — Storytime with Sarah L. Thomson, author of ANCIENT ANIMALS: PLESIOSAUR.

Fri, July 7, 7PM — Friday Night Bookclub meets to discuss HOMEGOING by Yaa Gyasi.

Tue, July 11, 7PM — Laura Harrington, author of A CATALOG OF BIRDS: A NOVEL

Wed, July 12, 7PM — Margot Livesey, author of THE HIDDEN MACHINERY: ESSAYS ON WRITING.  We’ll also celebrate the paperback release of her latest novel, MERCURY.

Sat, July 15, 11:30AM — Storytime with Carolyn Cinami DeCristofano, author of A BLACK HOLE IS NOT A HOLE

Sun, July 16, 2PM — Sunday Salon meets to discuss YOU CAN’T TOUCH MY HAIR: AND OTHER THINGS I STILL HAVE TO EXPLAIN by Phoebe Robinson.  Bonus reading: MOTHER OF ALL QUESTIONS: FURTHER REPORTS FROM THE FEMINIST REVOLUTIONS by Rebecca Solnit.

Tue, July 18, 7PM — Celebrity Bookclub meets to discuss OLIVE KITTERIDGE by Elizabeth Strout, hosted by Jessica Treadway, author of HOW WILL I KNOW YOU? A NOVEL.

Sun, July 30, 2PM – Release party for WINGS OF FIRE (Book Ten), by Tui T. Sutherland

Thu, Aug 10, 7PM – Anne Korkeakivi, author of SHINING SEA, in conversation with Joanna Rakoff

Fri, Aug 11, 7PM – Tom Perrotta, author of MRS. FLETCHER: A NOVEL

Wed, Sept 6, 7PM — Jennifer Tseng, author of THE PASSION OF WOO & ISOLDE, and Andrea Cohen, author of UNFATHOMING: POEMS

Thu, Sept 7, 7PM — AGNI Event.  Come celebrate this venerable literary magazine with readings from editors Sumita Chakraborty, David Ebenbach, and Mary O’Donoghue. Hosted by senior editor William Pierce.

Fri, Sept 8, 7PM — Friday Night Bookclub meets to discuss BEHOLD THE DREAMERS by Imbolo Mbue.

Sun, Sept 10, 2PM — BOOKMARKED Event.  Come celebrate this series of authors writing about books that influenced their work and lives with Steve Yarbrough (THE LAST PICTURE SHOW), and David Ryan (UNDER THE VOLCANO).

Mon, Sept 11, 7PM — PoemWorks Poetry Event.  Join us for a poetry reading with Allen West and Brittany Perham.  Hosted by Richard Waring.

Wed, Sept 13, 7PM — Volante Farms Event.  Come celebrate Volante Farms’ centennial.  We’ll have copies of their new cookbook, as well as some delicious food samples.

Thu, Sept 14, 7PM — Celebrity Bookclub meets to discuss ANGLE OF REPOSE by Wallace Stegner, hosted by Lindsay Hatton, author of MONTEREY BAY.

Fri, Sept 15, 7PM — Karen Shepard, author of KISS ME SOMEONE: STORIES, and Jim Shepard, author of THE TUNNEL AT THE END OF THE LIGHT: ESSAYS ON MOVIES AND POLITICS

Sat, Sept 16, 7PM — Jonathan Lethem, author of MORE ALIVE AND LESS LONELY: ON BOOKS AND WRITERS.  Jonathan will appear with POST ROAD Magazine managing editor and novelist Christopher Boucher, who edited the collection.

Sun, Sept 17, 2PM — Ann Hood, author of MORNINGSTAR: GROWING UP WITH BOOKS

Sun, Sept 17, 4PM — Sunday Salon meets to discuss THE HATE U GIVE by Angie Thomas.  Bonus reading: WHITE RAGE: THE UNSPOKEN TRUTH OF OUR RACIAL DIVIDE by Carol Anderson.

Tue, Sept 19, 6:30PM — Michael Holley, author of BELICHICK AND BRADY: TWO MEN, THE PATRIOTS, AND HOW THEY REVOLUTIONIZED FOOTBALL

Wed, Sept 20, 7PM — Europa Editions Event featuring Chantel Acevedo, author of THE LIVING INFINITE: A NOVEL, and Julie Lekstrom Himes, author of MIKHAIL AND MARGARITA: A NOVEL

++Sun, Sept 24, 2PM — Release party for YOU BRING THE DISTANT NEAR: A YOUNG ADULT NOVEL by Mitali Perkins

++Tue, Sept 26, 7PM — Release party for THE BOOK OF SEPARATION: A MEMOIR by Tova Mirvis

++Sun, Oct 1, 2PM — Storytime with Laya Steinberg, author of THE BEST SUKKOT PUMPKIN EVER.  All ages welcome.

++Mon, Oct 2, 7PM — PoemWorks Poetry Event featuring Fran Lunney and Karen Sharpe, followed by an Open Mic.

++Tue, Oct 3, 7PM — Josh Weil, author of THE AGE OF PERPETUAL LIGHT: STORIES, in conversation with Laura van den Berg, author of the forthcoming novel, THE THIRD HOTEL

++Wed, Oct 4, 7PM — Celebrity Bookclub meets to discuss 2 A.M. AT THE CAT’S PAJAMAS by Marie-Helene Bertino.  Hosted by Annie Hartnett, author of RABBIT CAKE: A NOVEL. No registration necessary.

++Thu, Oct 5, 7PM — Release party for ELEPHANTS WALK TOGETHER by Cheryl Lawton Malone

++Tue, Oct 10, 7PM — Claire Messud, author of THE BURNING GIRL: A NOVEL

++Wed, Oct 11, 7PM — Joyce Maynard, author of THE BEST OF US: A MEMOIR, in conversation with Roland Merullo

++Thu, Oct 12, 7PM — Peter Zheutlin, author of RESCUED: WHAT SECOND-CHANCE DOGS TEACH US ABOUT LIVING WITH PURPOSE, LOVING WITH ABANDON, AND FINDING JOY IN THE LITTLE THINGS

++Fri, Oct 13, 7PM — Friday Night Bookclub meets to discuss THE FORGERS by Bradford Morrow.

++Sun, Oct 15, 2PM — Sunday Salon meets to discuss to discuss FIELD NOTES FROM A CATASTROPHE: MAN, NATURE, AND CLIMATE CHANGE by Elizabeth Kolbert.  Bonus reading: THE COLLAPSE OF WESTERN CIVILIZATION: A VIEW FROM THE FUTURE by Naomi Oreskes and Erik M. Conway.

++Sun, Oct 22, 2PM — Kara LaReau, author of THE INFAMOUS RATSOS

++Thu, Oct 26, 7PM — Heather Harpham, author of HAPPINESS: THE CROOKED LITTLE ROAD TO SEMI-EVER AFTER: A MEMOIR

++Sun, Oct 29, 2PM — Steve Paul, author of HEMINGWAY AT EIGHTEEN: THE PIVOTAL YEAR THAT LAUNCHED AN AMERICAN LEGEND

++Wed, Nov 1, 7PM — Bradford Morrow, author of THE PRAGUE SONATA, in conversation with Dawn Tripp, author of GEORGIA: A NOVEL OF GEORGIA O’KEEFFE

++Thu, Nov 2, 7PM — Helen Benedict, author of WOLF SEASON: A NOVEL

++Fri, Nov 3, 7PM – Friday Night Bookclub meets to discuss THE DISAPPEARED: A NOVEL by Adam Braver.  No registration necessary.

++Mon, Nov 6, 7PM – PoemWorks Poetry Event with Mani Iyer and Pam Gemme, followed by an Open Mic.

++Thu, Nov 9, 7PM — Celeste Ng, author of LITTLE FIRES EVERYWHERE, in conversation with Karen Shepard, author of KISS ME SOMEONE: STORIES

++Sat, Nov 11, 11AM — Storytime with Julia Denos + E.B. Goodale, author and illustrator of WINDOWS. 

++Sun, Nov 12, 2PM – Sunday Salon meets to discuss HOW I BECAME A NORTH KOREAN: A NOVEL by Krys Lee.  Bonus reading: WITHOUT YOU, THERE IS NO US: UNDERCOVER AMONG THE SONS OF NORTH KOREA’S ELITE by Suki Kim.

++Tues, Nov 14, 7PM — Ivy Pochoda, author of WONDER VALLEY: A NOVEL, and Adam Braver, author of THE DISAPPEARED: A NOVEL

++Wed, Nov 15, 7PM — Joan Silber, author of IMPROVEMENT: A NOVEL, and Kathleen Hill, author of SHE READ TO US IN THE LATE AFTERNOONS: A LIFE IN NOVELS

++Thu, Nov 16, 7PM — Boston Authors Club Event with Erica Ferencik, author of THE RIVER AT NIGHT: A NOVEL, Annie Hartnett, author of RABBIT CAKE: A NOVEL, and Kelly Ford, author of COTTONMOUTHS: A NOVEL

++Fri, Nov 17, 7PM — Martin Philip, author of BREAKING BREAD: A BAKER’S JOURNEY HOME IN 75 RECIPES

++Sat, Nov 18, 11:30– Storytime with Jane Yolen, author of PREHISTORIC LAST LAUGHS.  Join us for a fun event with the author of the celebrated HOW DO DINOSAURS books.

++Sun, Nov 19, 2PM — Olivia Hoblitzelle, author of AGING WITH WISDOM: REFLECTIONS, STORIES, AND TEACHINGS

++Tue, Nov 28, 7PM — Marcella Pixley, author of the young adult novel READY TO FALL

++Wed, Nov 29, 7PM — Louise Miller, author of THE CITY BAKER’S GUIDE TO COUNTRY LIVING: A NOVEL

++Thu, Nov 30, 7PM — Jessica Keener, author of STRANGERS IN BUDAPEST: A NOVEL, in conversation with Judy Bolton-Fasman.

++Sun, Dec 3, 2-4PM — Join us for a special signing with Ammi-Joan Paquette, author of ELF IN THE HOUSE, and Kristin Kladstrup, author of THE NUTCRACKER MICE

++Mon, Dec 4, 7PM — Richard F. Thomas, author of WHY BOB DYLAN MATTERS

++Tue, Dec 5, 7PM — Release party for WHY COMICS?: FROM UNDERGROUND TO EVERYWHERE by Hillary Chute

++Wed, Dec 6, 7PM — Poetry Event with Stephanie Burt, author of ADVICE FROM THE LIGHTS, and Matthew Zapruder, author of WHY POETRY