Books We Recommend the Most

Harlem Shuffle: A Novel Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780385545136
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Doubleday - September 14th, 2021

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER From the two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Underground Railroad and The Nickel Boys, this gloriously entertaining novel is  “fast-paced, keen-eyed and very funny ... about race, power and the history of Harlem all disguised as a thrill-ride crime novel" (San Francisco Chronicle).


Staff Pick Badge
O Beautiful: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250274328
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: St. Martin's Press - November 9th, 2021

From the critically-acclaimed author of Shelter, an unflinching portrayal of a woman trying to come to terms with the ghosts of her past and the tortured realities of a deeply divided America.


The Midnight Library: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525559474
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Viking - September 29th, 2020

The #1 New York Times bestselling WORLDWIDE phenomenon

Winner of the Goodreads Choice Award for Fiction | A Good Morning America Book Club Pick | Independent (London) Ten Best Books of the Year

"A feel-good book guaranteed to lift your spirits."—The Washington Post


Staff Pick Badge
Matrix: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781594634499
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Riverhead Books - September 7th, 2021

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

WINNER OF THE 2022 JOYCE CAROL OATES PRIZE

FINALIST FOR THE 2021 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FOR FICTION

One of Barack Obama's Favorite Books of 2021


The Sentence Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780062671127
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Harper - November 9th, 2021

"Dazzling. . . . A hard-won love letter to readers and to booksellers, as well as a compelling story about how we cope with pain and fear, injustice and illness. One good way is to press a beloved book into another's hands. Read The Sentence and then do just that."—USA Today, Four Stars


Staff Pick Badge
What Storm, What Thunder Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781951142766
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Tin House Books - October 5th, 2021

Finalist for the Aspen Words Literary Prize and the CALIBA Golden Poppy Award

A NPR, Boston Globe, New York Public Library, Chicago Public Library, Kirkus, Library Journal Best Book of the Year

“Stunning.” —Margaret Atwood


Hamnet Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781984898876
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Vintage - May 18th, 2021

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER “Of all the stories that argue and speculate about Shakespeare’s life ... here is a novel ... so gorgeously written that it transports you." —The Boston Globe


Staff Pick Badge
All's Well: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982169664
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Simon & Schuster - August 3rd, 2021

From the author of Bunny, which Margaret Atwood hails as “genius,” comes a “wild, and exhilarating” (Lauren Groff) novel about a theater professor who is convinced staging Shakespeare’s most maligned play will remedy all that ails her—but at what cost?

Miranda Fitch’s life is a waking nightmare.


Cloud Cuckoo Land: A Novel Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781982168438
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Scribner - September 28th, 2021

On the New York Times bestseller list for 19 weeks * A New York Times Notable Book * A Barack Obama Favorite * A National Book Award Finalist * Named a Best of the Year by Fresh Air, Time, Entertainment Weekly, Associated Press, and many more—one of the ten books that appeared on the most lists for 2021

“If you’re looking for a


Staff Pick Badge
Piranesi Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781635577808
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - September 28th, 2021

New York Times Bestseller
Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction
World Fantasy Awards Finalist


The instant New York Times bestselling novel from the author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic book set in a dreamlike alternative reality.


Deacon King Kong: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780735216730
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Riverhead Books - February 2nd, 2021

Winner of the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award for Fiction
 
Winner of the Gotham Book Prize

One of Barack Obama's "Favorite Books of the Year"

Oprah's Book Club Pick

Named one of the Top Ten Books of the Year by the New York Times, Entertainment Weekly and TIME Magazine

Washington Post Notable Novel


Staff Pick Badge
The Perishing: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781640093027
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Counterpoint - November 9th, 2021

A Black immortal in 1930's Los Angeles must recover the memory of her past in order to discover who she truly is in this extraordinarily affecting novel for readers of N. K. Jemisin and Octavia E. Butler.


Assembly Cover Image
$23.00
ISBN: 9780316268264
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - September 14th, 2021

FINALIST FOR THE 2022 LA TIMES ART SEIDENBAUM AWARD FOR FIRST FICTION.

“The electrifying fiction debut that has been called ‘a modern Mrs.


Beautiful World, Where Are You: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780374602604
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - September 7th, 2021

AN INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Beautiful World, Where Are You
is a new novel by Sally Rooney, the bestselling author of Normal People and Conversations with Friends.


Staff Pick Badge
The Days of Afrekete: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780374140052
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - October 19th, 2021

“I didn't feel like I was reading this novel—I felt like I was living it.” —Ann Patchett, author of The Dutch House


How the Word Is Passed: A Reckoning with the History of Slavery Across America Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780316492935
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - June 1st, 2021

Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller

Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for Nonfiction


Winner of the Stowe Prize

Winner of 2022 Hillman Prize for Book Journalism


PEN America 2022 John Kenneth Galbraith Award for Nonfiction Finalist

A New York Times 10 Best Books of 2021

A T


The 1619 Project: A New Origin Story Cover Image
By Nikole Hannah-Jones (Created by), The New York Times Magazine (Created by), Caitlin Roper (Editor), Ilena Silverman (Editor), Jake Silverstein (Editor)
$38.00
ISBN: 9780593230572
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: One World - November 16th, 2021

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAACP IMAGE AWARD WINNER • A dramatic expansion of a groundbreaking work of journalism, The 1619 Project: A New Origin Story offers a profoundly revealing vision of the American past and present.


Staff Pick Badge
Still Life Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593330753
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - November 2nd, 2021

A Good Morning America Book Club Pick
 
A Veranda Magazine Book Club Pick

A captivating, bighearted, richly tapestried story of people brought together by love, war, art, flood, and the ghost of E. M. Forster, by the celebrated author of Tin Man.


Staff Pick Badge
Rabbit Cake Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781941040560
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Tin House Books - March 7th, 2017

People Magazine Book of the Week

A Best Book of the Year at Kirkus Reviews, Book Riot, The Chicago Review of Books, Minnesota Public Radio, and more

An Indies Introduce and Indie Next Pick