Bookish Books

Around the World in 80 Books Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780593299883
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Press - November 16th, 2021

A transporting and illuminating voyage around the globe, through classic and modern literary works that are in conversation with one another and with the world around them

*Featured in the Chicago Tribune's Great 2021 Fall Book Preview * One of Smithsonian Magazine's Ten Best Books About Travel of 2021*


The Library: A Fragile History Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781541600775
Availability: Backordered at our distributor, may take longer than 4-7 business days, but we can still order it.
Published: Basic Books - November 9th, 2021

Perfect for book lovers, this is a fascinating exploration of the history of libraries and the people who built them, from the ancient world to the digital age.
 
Famed across the known world, jealously guarded by private collectors, built up over centuries, destroyed in a single day, ornamented with gold leaf and frescoes, or filled with bean bags and chi


Orwell's Roses Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593083369
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking - October 19th, 2021

“An exhilarating romp through Orwell’s life and times and also through the life and times of roses.” —Margaret Atwood
 
“A captivating account of Orwell as gardener, lover, parent, and endlessly curious thinker.” —Claire Messud, Harper's


The Gambler Wife: A True Story of Love, Risk, and the Woman Who Saved Dostoyevsky Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780525537144
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - August 31st, 2021

“Feminism, history, literature, politics—this tale has all of that, and a heroine worthy of her own turn in the spotlight.” —Therese Anne Fowler, bestselling author of Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald

A revelatory new portrait of the courageous woman who saved Dostoyevsky’s life—and became a pioneer in Russian literary history


Book Nerd (gift book for readers) Cover Image
$12.95
ISBN: 9781523510269
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Workman Publishing Company - April 13th, 2021

Book nerds rule!


Cloud Cuckoo Land: A Novel Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781982168438
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - September 28th, 2021

A New York Times Notable Book

“If you’re looking for a superb novel, look no further.” —The Washington Post

The instant New York Times bestseller and finalist for the 2021 National Book Award is “wildly inventive, a humane and uplifting book for adults that’s infused with the magic of childhood


The Gilded Page: The Secret Lives of Medieval Manuscripts Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781541675087
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Basic Books - October 12th, 2021

A breathtaking journey into the hidden history of medieval manuscripts, from the Lindisfarne Gospels to the ornate Psalter of Henry VIII

“A delight—immersive, conversational, and intensely visual, full of gorgeous illustrations and shimmering description.” –Helen Castor, author of She-Wolves

Medieval manuscripts can tell us much about power and


Writers' Retreats: Literary Cabins, Creative Hideaways, and Favorite Writing Spaces of Iconic Authors Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781623545109
Availability: Not in the store, usually ships in 4-7 Days
Published: Imagine - October 26th, 2021

Featuring over 50 writers and their getaways--get a glimpse into the creative habits of some of the greatest writers of the last two centuries. 


Paradise Cover Image
$22.95
ISBN: 9781565841635
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New Press - May 1st, 1995

From the Nobel Prize winner, a coming-of-age story that illuminates the harshness and beauty of an Africa on the brink of colonization


Books and Libraries: Poems (Everyman's Library Pocket Poets Series) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780593320198
Availability: Backordered at our distributor, may take longer than 4-7 business days, but we can still order it.
Published: Everyman's Library - November 2nd, 2021

An enchanting book about books: a beautiful hardcover Pocket Poets anthology that testifies to the passion books and libraries have inspired through the ages and around the world


The New York Times Book Review: 125 Years of Literary History Cover Image
By The New York Times, Tina Jordan (Editor), Noor Qasim (Editor)
$50.00
ISBN: 9780593234617
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarkson Potter - November 2nd, 2021

A “delightful” (Vanity Fair) collection from the longest-running, most influential book review in America, featuring its best, funniest, strangest, and most memorable coverage over the past 125 years.


The Bad-Ass Librarians of Timbuktu: And Their Race to Save the World's Most Precious Manuscripts Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781476777412
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - April 4th, 2017

To save ancient Arabic texts from Al Qaeda, a band of librarians pulls off a brazen heist worthy of Ocean’s Eleven in this “fast-paced narrative that is…part intellectual history, part geopolitical tract, and part out-and-out thriller” (The Washington Post) from the author of The Falcon Thief.

In the 1980s, a young adventurer and collecto


Pre-Order Now Badge
Greek Myths: A New Retelling Cover Image
By Charlotte Higgins, Chris Ofili (Drawings by)
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593316269
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Pantheon - January 11th, 2022

A brilliantly original, landmark retelling of Greek myths, recounted as if they were actual scenes being woven into textiles by the women who feature prominently in them—including Athena, Helen, Circe and Penelope


Bibliophile: An Illustrated Miscellany (Book for Writers, Book Lovers Miscellany with Booklist) Cover Image
By Jane Mount (Illustrator)
$24.95
ISBN: 9781452167237
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books - September 11th, 2018

Searching for perfect book lovers gifts? Rejoice! Bibliophile: An Illustrated Miscellany, is a love letter to all things bookish. Author Jane Mount brings literary people, places, and things to life through her signature and vibrant illustrations. It's a must-have for every book collection, and makes a wonderful literary gift for book lovers, writers, and more.


Bookshop Tours of Britain Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781912054473
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Fairlight Books - October 1st, 2021

Bookshop Tours of Britain is a slow-travel guide to Britain, navigating bookshop to bookshop. Across 18 bookshop tours, the reader journeys from the Jurassic Coast of southwest England, over the mountains of Wales, through England's industrial heartland, up to the Scottish Highlands, and back via Whitby, the Norfolk Broads, central London, the South Downs, and Hardy's Wessex.


A Child of Books Cover Image
By Oliver Jeffers, Sam Winston, Oliver Jeffers (Illustrator), Sam Winston (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9781536221923
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - September 15th, 2021

A New York Times Bestseller!

New York Times
best-selling author-illustrator Oliver Jeffers and fine artist Sam Winston deliver a lyrical picture book inspiring readers of all ages to create, to question, to explore, and to imagine.


The Bookshop of Second Chances: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593355657
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - May 4th, 2021

A woman desperate to turn a new page heads to the Scottish coast and finds herself locked in a battle of wills with an infuriatingly aloof bookseller in this utterly heartwarming debut, perfect for readers of Evvie Drake Starts Over.

“Humor and charm abound. . . . [This] love story hits the spot.”—Publishers Weekly


Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore: A Novel Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781501116858
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - January 9th, 2018

When a bookshop patron commits suicide, his favorite store clerk must unravel the puzzle he left behind in this “intriguingly dark, twisty” (Kirkus Reviews) debut novel from an award-winning short story writer.

Lydia Smith lives her life hiding in plain sight.


My Miniature Library: 30 Tiny Books to Make, Read and Treasure Cover Image
By Daniela Jaglenka Terrazzini (From an idea by)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781786270269
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Laurence King Publishing - October 17th, 2017

My Miniature Library is a kit to make a complete collection of tiny books that you can really read!

With stories ranging from illustrated fairytales to well-loved nonsense rhymes and books of butterflies, birds and flowers, plus blank books for you to complete yourself, you'll have everything you need to make a little library of beautifully illustrated books.


Shelf Life: Chronicles of a Cairo Bookseller Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374600181
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - October 5th, 2021

“As a bookseller, I loved Shelf Life for the chance to peer behind the curtain of Diwan, Nadia Wassef’s Egyptian bookstore—the way that the personal is inextricable from the professional, the way that failure and success are often lovers, the relationship between neighborhoods and books and life.


The Blessing and the Curse: The Jewish People and Their Books in the Twentieth Century Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780393868371
Availability: Not in the store, usually ships in 4-7 Days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - November 2nd, 2021

An erudite and accessible survey of Jewish life and culture in the twentieth century, as reflected in seminal texts.


My Fairy Library: Make a Magical World of Miniature Books  (Miniature Library Set, Library Making Kit, Fairytale Stories) Cover Image
By Daniela Jaglenka Terrazzini (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781786274830
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Laurence King Publishing - July 16th, 2019

Open the box to go on an adventure into Fairyland and create a library of magical miniature books that you can really read!


Property of the Rebel Librarian Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781524771508
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yearling - September 3rd, 2019

Celebrate the freedom to read with this timely, empowering middle-grade debut in the spirit of The View from Saturday or Frindle.

June Harper is a good kid. She follows the rules, plays flute in band, and spends her spare time reading. Nobody would ever call her a rebel . . . until her parents take strict parenting to a whole new level.


Planting Stories: The Life of Librarian and Storyteller Pura Belpré Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062748683
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - January 15th, 2019

RECIPIENT OF THE PURA BELPRÉ HONOR 

* A Today Show's Best Kids' Books of 2019 * Indie Next List Pick * Junior Library Guild Selection *