Atmospheric Mysteries

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

"Each author captures Christie—and Marple—perfectly, while also displaying just a bit of her own unique touch. . . . This new and entertaining collection by some of our favorite writers will hook a new group of readers to the formidable Miss Marple." — Rhys Bowen, Washington Post


Secret Lives By Mark de Castrique Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781728258300
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Poisoned Pen Press - October 11th, 2022

AMAZON BOOK OF THE MONTH SELECTION * SUE GRAFTON MEMORIAL AWARD NOMINEE * APPLE BOOK OF THE MONTH SELECTION

"A high energy foray into cryptocurrency and government corruption."—First Clue


Silence in the Library (LILY ADLER MYSTERY, A #2) By Katharine Schellman Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781639101436
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Crooked Lane Books - December 6th, 2022

Regency widow Lily Adler didn't expect to find a corpse when visiting a family friend. Now it's up to her to discover the killer in the charming second installment in the Lily Adler mysteries.


The Last Party: A Novel By Clare Mackintosh Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781728250960
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - November 8th, 2022

"Wicked fun, devilishly clever, with echoes of Agatha Christie." —Patricia Cornwell, #1 New York Times bestselling author

At midnight, one of them is dead. By morning, all of them are suspects.

It's the party to end all parties….but not everyone is here to celebrate.


Killers of a Certain Age By Deanna Raybourn Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593200681
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Berkley - September 6th, 2022

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

“This Golden Girls meets James Bond thriller is a journey you want to be part of.” -Buzzfeed

Older women often feel invisible, but sometimes that’s their secret weapon.


Observations by Gaslight: Stories from the World of Sherlock Holmes By Lyndsay Faye Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781613163672
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Mysterious Press - December 6th, 2022

One of PopSugar's Best New Mysteries and Thrillers of December 2021

A new collection of Sherlockian tales that shows the Great Detective and his partner, Watson, as their acquaintances saw them


Murder Under Her Skin: A Pentecost and Parker Mystery By Stephen Spotswood Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593312803
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Vintage Crime/Black Lizard - October 11th, 2022

A New York Times Book Review Editor’s Choice • Rex Stout meets Agatha Christie with a fresh twist in the new Pentecost and Parker Mystery, a delightfully hardboiled high-wire act starring two daring women sleuths dead set on justice as they set out to solve a murder at a traveling circus


Observations by Gaslight: Stories from the World of Sherlock Holmes By Lyndsay Faye Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781613163672
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Mysterious Press - December 6th, 2022

One of PopSugar's Best New Mysteries and Thrillers of December 2021

A new collection of Sherlockian tales that shows the Great Detective and his partner, Watson, as their acquaintances saw them


Dead and Gondola: A Christie Bookshop Mystery By Ann Claire Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593496343
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Bantam - November 1st, 2022

In this series debut, a mysterious bookshop visitor dies under murderous circumstances, compelling the Christie sisters and their cat, Agatha, to call on all they’ve learned about solving mysteries from their favorite novelist.


A Dangerous Business: A novel By Jane Smiley Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780525520337
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Knopf - December 6th, 2022

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning, best-selling author of A Thousand Acres: An amazing “mash-up of a Western, a serial-killer mystery and a feminist-inflected tale of life in a bordello” (The Washington Post).
 


A Murder at Balmoral By Chris McGeorge Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593544136
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - October 25th, 2022

The Crown meets Clue in this delightful locked-room mystery, sure to charm Agatha Christie fans and keep readers guessing to the end.

The king is dead. The killer is in the family. Solving this murder will be a royal pain.


Slough House By Mick Herron Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781641293099
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Soho Crime - August 31st, 2021

In his best and most ambitious novel yet, Mick Herron, “the le Carré of the future” (BBC), offers an unsparing look at the corrupt web of media, global finance, spycraft, and politics that power our modern world.


Shady Hollow (A Shady Hollow Mystery #1) By Juneau Black Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780593315712
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Vintage Crime/Black Lizard - January 25th, 2022

The first book in the Shady Hollow series, in which we are introduced to the village of Shady Hollow, a place where woodland creatures live together in harmony—until a curmudgeonly toad turns up dead and the local reporter has to solve the case.


The Quiet Boy: A Novel By Ben H. Winters Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316428552
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Mulholland Books - November 22nd, 2022

From the "inventive...entertaining and thought-provoking" (Charles Yu) New York Times-bestselling author of Underground Airlines and Golden State, this sweeping legal thriller follows a sixteen-year-old who suffers from a neurological condition that has frozen him in time—and the team of lawyers, doctors, and detectives who are desperate to wake him


The Mitford Vanishing: A Mitford Murders Mystery (The Mitford Murders #5) By Jessica Fellowes Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250848727
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Minotaur Books - September 13th, 2022

A mystery with the fascinating Mitford sisters at its heart, Jessica Fellowes's The Mitford Vanishing is the fifth installment in the Mitford Murders series, inspired by a real-life murder in a story full of intrigue…

Downton Abbey meets Agatha Christie in this witty and twisty mystery.” —In Touch Weekly on The Mitford Murders


The Christmas Murder Game By Alexandra Benedict Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781728263038
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Poisoned Pen Press - October 4th, 2022

"Curl up by the fire (and lock all the doors) for this Christmas cracker of a book." C.S. Green, author of Sleep Tight

Twelve clues. Twelve keys. Twelve days of Christmas. But how many will die before Twelfth Night?

Agatha Christie meets Clue in this delightful, tense manor house murder mystery.


The Sun Down Motel By Simone St. James Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780440000204
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Berkley - October 20th, 2020

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Something hasn’t been right at the roadside Sun Down Motel for a very long time, and Carly Kirk is about to find out why in this chilling new novel from the New York Times bestselling and award-winning author of The Broken Girls.


A Peculiar Combination: An Electra McDonnell Novel (Electra McDonnell Series #1) By Ashley Weaver Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250847621
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Minotaur Books - May 10th, 2022

The first in the Electra McDonnell series from Edgar-nominated author Ashley Weaver, set in England during World War II, A Peculiar Combination is a delightful mystery filled with spies, murder, romance, and the author's signature wit.


April in Spain By John Banville Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781335475091
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Hanover Square Press - September 6th, 2022

*NATIONAL BESTSELLER*

Booker Prize winner John Banville returns with a dark and evocative new mystery set on the Spanish coast


Don't disturb the dead...


In My Dreams I Hold a Knife: A Novel By Ashley Winstead Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781728243207
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - April 19th, 2022

"[A] mordant debut novel....examines what it means to covet the lives of others, no matter the cost."—The New York Times

"Tense, twisty, and packed with shocks."—Riley Sager, New York Times bestselling author of Survive The Night

Six friends.

One college reunion.


The Marlow Murder Club: A Novel By Robert Thorogood Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781728250519
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Poisoned Pen Press - May 3rd, 2022

LILIAN JACKSON BRAUN AWARD NOMINEE

"An absolute joy to read. Funny, entertaining, and beautifully written." —B. A. Paris, New York Times bestselling author

A delightfully clever new mystery from creator of BBC One's hilarious murder mystery series Death in Paradise


The Alienist: A Novel (The Alienist Series #1) By Caleb Carr Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780812976144
Availability: Not in the store. We can order it and should have it in store in 3-5 business days.
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - October 24th, 2006

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NOW A TNT ORIGINAL SERIES • “A first-rate tale of crime and punishment that will keep readers guessing until the final pages.”—Entertainment Weekly


Death on Gokumon Island (Detective Kindaichi Mysteries) By Seishi Yokomizo, Louise Heal Kawai (Translated by) Cover Image
By Seishi Yokomizo, Louise Heal Kawai (Translated by)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781782277415
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Pushkin Vertigo - July 5th, 2022

A fiendish, classic locked room murder mystery, from one of Japan's greatest crime writers, that’s perfect for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware

“An exceptional whodunit... The brilliant and intricate plot will keep readers turning the pages.”  --Publishers Weekly, starred review



Silverview: A Novel By John le Carré Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593490631
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Penguin Books - July 5th, 2022

An instant New York Times bestseller!

In his last completed novel, John le Carré turns his focus to the world that occupied his writing for the past sixty years—the secret world itself.


The Body in the Garden: A Lily Adler Mystery (LILLY ADLER MYSTERY, A #1) By Katharine Schellman Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781643859583
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: Crooked Lane Books - June 7th, 2022

A SUSPENSE MAGAZINE BEST BOOK OF 2020

Perfect for fans of Tasha Alexander and Rhys Bowen, Katharine Schellman's debut novel is sure to delight.


Red Widow By Alma Katsu Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525539421
Availability: Likely on our shelves now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - March 1st, 2022

“A wicked sharp spy novel…Equal parts Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy and Killing Eve.” –S. A. Cosby, author of Blacktop Wasteland and Razorblade Tears